Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries 2024-2025

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries 2024-2025

DFID Masters Degree

Study in: UK
Course starts Sept/Oct 2024

Brief description:

The UK Department for International Development (DFID) provides funding for Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s study in the UK, which are specifically available to citizens of developing Commonwealth countries.

Host Institution(s): UK Universties

Level and Field(s) of study: Eligible Masters Degree Programme at a UK University

Number of Scholarships: Not specified

Target group:

Citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country:

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, and Zambia

Scholarship value/inclusions:

Each scholarship includes transportation expenses to and from the United Kingdom, as well as coverage for tuition and examination fees. Additionally, recipients will receive a stipend, a thesis grant (if applicable), and an allowance for warm clothing, among other benefits.


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

• Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person

• Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country

• Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024

• By September 2024, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study

• Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

• Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format

Application instructions:

Applications are currently closed.

The CSC does not accept direct applications for these scholarships. All applications must be made through one of these nominating bodies: national nominating agencies (this is the main route of application) or selected non-governmental organisations and charitable bodies.

It is important to note that each nominating body has the responsibility of conducting its own selection process. To ensure that you have the correct information and guidelines for applying, including eligibility criteria and application deadlines, it is essential to consult with your nominating body.

Additionally, when submitting your application, you must utilize the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS) along with any other required application forms provided by your nominating body. The deadline for submitting all applications is 17 October 2023, 17:00 BST.

It is important to read to visit the official website (link found below) to access the EAS system and for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like